11/03/2026 | Press release | Distributed by Public on 11/03/2026 10:31
NEWS RELEASE
ATLANTA - The Georgia Department of Public Health (DPH) is increasing the cost of a five-year Medical Cannabis card to $75, effective December 5, 2026, at 12:01 am. The new fee applies to new cards and renewal of existing cards.
Cards can be paid for through an online portal and mailed directly to a patient's or caregiver's home address. Payment by money order is also accepted. Online payments include a $3 transaction fee and a $1.88 processing fee, bringing the total cost to $79.88. There are no additional fees when paying by money order. Medical Cannabis cards are not covered by insurance.
Patients with one or more of 18 qualifying conditions may be eligible for a Medical Cannabis card if their condition is certified by a physician licensed by the Georgia Composite Medical Board whose primary practice is in Georgia. Physician certification is the only legal way patients and their caregivers can access Medical Cannabis in Georgia.
Georgia law (O.C.G.A. § 31-2A-18) authorizes patients and their caregivers who are listed in the Medical Cannabis Registry with an active card status to legally possess up to 12,000 milligrams of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) or medical cannabis. The law does not make the sale or possession of all types of marijuana legal in Georgia. Possession of any form of marijuana by an unauthorized person is a violation of state and federal law.
For additional information about these changes or other questions about Medical Cannabis cards, please visit the Medical Cannabis Patient Registry webpage. Medical cannabis dispensary locations can be found on the Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission website.
Contact